March 5th, 2010- Cheese & Sriracha Quesadilla

Cheese & Sriracha Quesadilla!

So, for my first post, I’d love to highlight something that I have made twice, and mainly out of the fact that I just got married, and our food was mexican food from Valle Luna, a local sonoran-mexican chain. Needless to say, we were left with a TON of tortillas.

So I started making quesadillas. First off, I made them with some of the leftover fajitas that we had from the party, but once those ran out, I found myself wondering what else to put in them. I tried out other veggies, different fillings, and eventually, I was holding the iconic clear bottle, wondering what it would taste like.

I was raised on mexican hot sauces, like the expected Tabasco, but also Bufalo, Choula( my personal favorite), and your usual hot wing sauces, like Frank’s, or Red Devil.

But I held the bottle, and wondered what it would be like. “Salsa? Hot Sauce?”  So I went for it.

I took 2 tortillas, filling the middle with cheese, along with the red chili paste. After nuking it for a minute ( I know, a crime, but I’m lazy when it comes to quesadillas.), I cut it into several pieces, and topping each piece with some more Sriracha.

The result? Delicious. The first bite exploded with flavor, and it was a little overwhelming at first, but still delicious. The garlic mixed with the sugar/spice, which paired extremely well with the slight sweetness of the tortilla and the saltiness of the cheese. However, I did discover one thing, and I’ll leave you with that.

Make absolutely sure you don’t put too much on one piece. In retrospect, a bit of an error.

Leave a Reply

